Appendix B: Transportation Improvement Program for the Twin Cities Region

The federally required Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) for the Greater MSP region – as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Metropolitan Council to consist of the seven counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington, the contiguous urbanized areas of Wright and Sherburne counties, and a portion of Houlton, Wis. – is updated each year by the Transportation Advisory Board and the Metropolitan Council. The federal transportation bill, Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21), requires that all federally-funded transportation projects within the Greater MSP region be included in the four-year TIP. The TIP is prepared by Metropolitan Council staff with assistance from the Minnesota Department of Transportation. It is a fiscally constrained four-year program for project delivery, which means anticipated revenues and estimated project costs balance over the four year period covered by the TIP.

The current Transportation Improvement Program is available on the Metropolitan Council Web site at: <u>http://www.metrocouncil.org/Transportation/Planning/TIP.aspx</u>