Metro HRA Programs

Section 8 Rent Assistance Program

Please see the Section 8 page for more information.

Special Programs

The HRA operates programs for people with disabilities by combining housing assistance and support services. The HRA works with area social service agencies to implement these programs. The goal is to allow people to live as autonomously as possible in the community of their choice. These programs include the following:

  • Bridges. This state-funded program is designed to provide rental subsidies to households in which at least one adult member has a mental illness. The program is a partnership of housing subsidy and supportive service to foster integration into the community. The assistance is provided while the person is waiting for Section 8. The monthly rent assistance is the difference between the monthly rent and 30% of their gross monthly income. The HRA has funding to assist approximately 150 participants.

  • Shelter Plus Care. This federally funded program is designed to provide rental assistance in connection with supportive services for homeless persons with disabilities. The HRA administers approximately 230 subsidies in Anoka, Ramsey, and Hennepin Counties. 

  • Temporary Housing Assistance Program is designed to benefit households in which at least one member is HIV positive. This program was established with funds awarded by the Federal Housing Opportunities for Persons with Aids Program (HOPWA) and through a contract with the Minnesota Department of Health. Approximately 50 households receive rental subsidies in the seven- county metropolitan area, including Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington Counties. 

  • Rental Assistance for Anoka County (RAAC). Metro HRA works with the Anoka county workforce Center to provide state funded rental subsidies for families seeking self-sufficiency. The program is a partnership of housing subsidy with job and education planning to assist families accomplish their self-sufficiency goals. The assistance is short-term and intended to be transitional to other income sources or Section 8 as needed. The maximum rent assistance is $400.00 or no more than the difference between the monthly rent and 30% of their adjusted monthly income. The HRA has funding to serve about 60 households. 

  • The Mainstream Section 8 Program is designed to provide vouchers to enable persons with disabilities to rent affordable private housing of their choice. Eligible households are those in which the head of the household or the spouse is disabled. The household must meet Section 8 eligibility requirements. Currently, there are 200 households receiving assistance.

Family Initiatives

Metro HRA administers programs that help in stabilizing and strengthening the family unit. These programs offer housing assistance payments as well as support services to assist the family in becoming more self-sufficient. These programs include:

Family Affordable Housing Program (FAHP)

The Council's Family Affordable Housing Program (FAHP) is a federally funded affordable family rental housing program providing affordable housing units throughout the region.

The program was established in January 2000, and was designed in part to help implement the 1995 Hollmann consent decree, which seeks to reduce concentrated areas of poverty by dispersing affordable housing throughout the metro region.

The Council owns 150 homes, townhomes, and condominiums with two to five bedrooms throughout the region, which are rented to low and very-low income families on affordable housing waiting lists.

Residents are carefully selected based on their rental and criminal histories, and on their potential to be self-sufficient, pay their rent on time, maintain their property, and be good neighbors. Residents pay 30% of their adjusted income for rent, with federal funds making up the balance.

Properties are managed by a professional property management firm. Council staff provide professional asset management to ensure all units are managed and maintained according to Council standards and are long-term community and neighborhood assets.

The 150 FAHP units are located in eleven cities throughout Anoka, Hennepin, and Ramsey counties. The FAHP assists communities in meeting their affordable housing goals. Participating cities include Blaine, Coon Rapids, Edina, Eden Prairie, Golden Valley, Minnetonka, Maple Grove, Plymouth, Richfield, Roseville, and Shoreview. Each have a range of 10 to 20 FAHP units.

Family Self-Sufficiency Program (FSS)

This program is designed to promote economic self-sufficiency among participating households in the Section 8 Program. Eligible households receive housing assistance and are connected with appropriate support services and resources within their communities needed to obtain education and/or job training.

The use of housing as a stabilizing force permits the family to invest their energy in other efforts (including employment, education, and job training) that is necessary to achieve economic independence. As their earned income increases, the HRA contributes the difference between the old and the new rent in an escrow account which they are eligible to receive once they have accomplished their goals and are off all forms of welfare assistance. The HRA administers this program for over 200 families.