# **Transportation Advisory Board**

of the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities

## **ACTION TRANSMITTAL 2017-01**

**DATE**: January 6, 2017

**TO**: Transportation Advisory Board

**FROM**: TAB Chair Jim Hovland

**SUBJECT**: Election of TAB Executive Committee

**MOTION:** That the TAB approve the TAB Executive Committee

**BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE OF ACTION**: The TAB Bylaws state that the Board shall establish a TAB Executive Committee of nine members to advise the Board on emerging transportation issues, new opportunities and initiatives, and Board legislative roles. The Bylaws identify the TAB Chair and representatives of the MN Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Council as members of the Executive Committee, currently:

- 1. TAB Chair James Hovland, MC-Edina
- 2. MnDOT Scott McBride
- 3. Metropolitan Council Katie Rodriguez, District 1

The Bylaws identify the number of local elected officials and non-elected members shall be on the committee as follows:

- 1. two members representing the county Board members;
- 2. one member representing the Board members from the cities of the first class;
- 3. two members representing the Board members from the remaining cities; and
- 4. one member representing the citizen, modal and remaining agency Board members

TAB Chair Jim Hovland forwards the following slate of candidates to the Board.

#### County Board members (2)

- Jon Ulrich, Scott County
- Kathleen Gaylord, Dakota County
- Mary Jo McGuire, Ramsey County

#### Board members from the cities of the first class (1)

• Kevin Reich, Minneapolis

### Board members from the remaining cities (2)

- Mary Hamann-Roland, Apple Valley
- Denny Laufenburger, Chanhassen

#### Member representing the citizen, modal and remaining agency Board members (1)

- Bill Goins, Freight
- Doug Anderson, Citizen member, TAB District A (Council Districts 1 & 2)
- Brad Tabke, Citizen member, TAB District B (Council Districts 3 & 4)